Our Staff Contact us
Cathedral Chapter
Philadelphia Cathedral Chapter
Chapter Banner Canterbury

The life and work of the Cathedral is governed by the Cathedral Chapter, the legal corporation on which the Diocesan Bishop serves as chair, and the Dean of the Cathedral as president. Twelve of the fifteen members (both clergy and lay) are drawn from across the Diocese, nominated by the Bishop and ratified by the Diocesan Convention. Three members are appointed from the Cathedral congregation. The term of office is three years.

The Rt. Rev. Daniel G. P. Gutiérrez was consecrated on July 16, 2016 serving as the 16th bishop of the historic Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania, which is the second oldest and fourth largest in the Episcopal Church. After his initial “listening pilgrimage” to all of the Diocese’s 133 parishes, Gutiérrez became focused on emphasizing the sacred presence of Jesus Christ and a call to holiness. In addition, the focus is empowering laity, inspiring creative solutions for church growth, emphasizing the missions of the church, social justice, poverty and ensuring that transparency is part of everything. Read More
The Very Rev. Judith Sullivan returned to the Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral in 2010, following her election as the fourth dean. She has led a $120 million real estate project, including the development of a community center, childcare center, 18-story apartment building, and a 3-story office building which formerly housed the Offices of the Diocese of Pennsylvania. The project has resulted in the revitalization of the Cathedral campus, the stabilization of the historic Cathedral building, and the renewal of the Cathedral’s ministry in Philadelphia. Read More
Charlie has been a congregant at the Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral since 2015. He is retired from a career in sales, marketing and leadership development within the pharmaceutical industry. Read More
The Rev. Canon Jordan F. Casson is rector of St. Michael's Episcopal Church. He serves as diocesan Canon for Peace and Reconciliation. Read More
Phyllis B. Cater is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Spectrum Community Health Services, Inc. a Federally Qualified Health Center with three locations in Philadelphia. Read More
John G. Chou retired in December 2022 as an executive of AmerisourceBergen Corporation. He is a parishioner at the Church of St. Asaph in Bala Cynwyd. Read More
Penny is a member of Church of Our Saviour in Jenkintown where she serves on the Vestry and Altar Guild and teaches Sunday school. Read More
Asha maintains a therapy practice in Blue Bell, PA integrating spirituality and psychology in cross-cultural settings. She serves St. Mark's Church in Honey Brook. Read More
Anna, a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, is a lifelong Episcopalian, and a member of the Church of the Redeemer, Bryn Mawr, since 1990. Read More
Marcia is a member of the Church of the Holy Apostles and The Mediator, maintaining its social media presence. Marcia is also the media maven for the Schuylkill Deanery. Read More
Mr. Liem had founded Growth Properties in 1980, its projects included historic renovations, commercial and residential properties. Read More
Norman McClave is a retired banker with deep experience in finance and financial management. He is a member of the Church of the Redeemer in Bryn Mawr. Read More
The Very Rev. Richard Morgan is the ninth rector of the Church of the Good Samaritan, Paoli, Pennsylvania. He currently serves as the Dean of the Brandywine Deanery. Read More
The Reverend Abigail Crozier Nestlehutt serves the Diocese of Pennsylvania as Rector of St. Peter's Church in the Great Valley, Malvern, PA. Read More
Luisa Rabe is an active member of the Cathedral community and the diocese where she served on the Education Committee and the Deaconess Fund. Read More
The Rev. Emily Richards serves as Priest in Charge of St. Thomas’ Episcopal Church, Whitemarsh. Read More
The Rev. Wallace-Williams is the ninth rector of the Church of Saint Luke and The Epiphany, Philadelphia. Originally from New Orleans, Fr. Joseph is a graduate of the University of the South's School of Theology, Sewanee, TN. Read More
Philadelphia Cathedral Chapter